Outdoors Mt. Washington Valley, NH

For centuries, the White Mountains have lured competitors, athletes and weekend warriors to our little corner of New Hampshire for outdoor adventures ranging from the mild to hair raising feats of physical strength. The valley offers adventures of all kinds - biking and hiking on trails from easy to challenging, kayaking down the Saco, golfing, rock climbing, running, horseback riding and more for the beginner to expert. Pack your fishing tackle and check out our prime fly fishing spots.
Home to the highest peak in the Northeast, Mount Washington, the Chamber's partners are able to offer dynamic events and athletic vacations in the Mt. Washington Valley, ranging from pentathalons, triatholons, marathons, races and dual events. From the most challenging to mild adventures, get your adrenaline pumping in Mt. Washington Valley.

Outdoor Adventure Packages  |  Recreation Listings  |  MWV Events Calendar
Bike the Whites  |  CompeteMWV Packages  |  Compete MWV


September 2017
100 Acre Challenge – Believe in Books / 100 Acre Woods – Saturday, Sept, 23, 2017

October 2017
Hills to Hops Trail Race – AAEF / Attitash Mountain Resort – Saturday, Oct. 7, 2017
Friends of Conway Rec Donut Dash 5K – Conway Rec. / Whittaker Woods, Saturday, Oct. 14, 2017
White Mountain Miler Half Marathon - White Mountain Milers / MWVCC – Sunday, Oct. 29, 2017

January 2018
8th Annual Attitash Open GS – Attitash Mountain Resort – Saturday, Jan. 6, 2018
“U Go Girl” Race #1 - Attitash Mountain Resort – Saturday, Jan. 13, 2018
8th Annual Whittaker Woods Snowshoe Scramble – Whittaker Woods - Sunday, Jan. 7, 2018
Nordic Meisters - Great Glen Trails - Tuesdays, January 9, to March 6, (except Febuary 20)

45th Geschmossel Classic Nordic Race – Bretton Woods Nordic Center – TBD
Women's Winter Escape
- Great Glen Trails - Saturday and Sunday, Jan. 13 & 14, 2018
Ski with a Naturalist - Great Glen Trails - Saturdays, Jan. 13 & 27, 2018
Evening Snowshoe Tour - Great Glen Trails - Saturday, Jan. 13, 2018
Nordic Demo Day - Great Glen Trails - Sunday, Jan. 14, 2018

MCCP Moonlight Charity Challenge – Shawnee Peak – Friday, Jan. 19, 2018
USASA Slopestyle - Shawnee Peak – TBD
Abenaki Parks Rail Jam - Attitash Mountain Resort – Saturday, Jan. 20, 2018
Moose Brook Fat Bike Race – Gorham, NH – Sunday, Jan. 21, 2018
New England Master’s SL - Shawnee Peak – TBD
New England Master’s GS / Lobstah Cup - Shawnee Peak – TBD


February 2018
Winter Wild Race – Shawnee Peak –TBD
USASA Parallel GS – Shawnee Peak – TBD
Go Red for Women - Great Glen Trails - Friday, Feb. 2, 2018
Kids Ski Fest - Great Glen Trails - Saturday, Feb. 3, 2018
Evening Snowshoe Tours - Great Glen Trails - Saturdays, Feb. 3 & 24, 2018
Ski with a Naturalist - Great Glen Trails - Saturdays, Feb. 10 & 24, 2018

Telemark Sprint Classic Race – Wildcat Mountain – TBD
Abenaki Parks Slopestyle - Attitash Mountain Resort – Saturday, Feb. 10, 2018
Attitash Skier / Boardercross - Attitash Mountain Resort – Saturday, Feb. 17, 2018
“U Go Girl” Race #2 - Attitash Mountain Resort – Sunday, Feb. 18, 2018
Abenaki Parks Big Air - Attitash Mountain Resort – Saturday, Feb. 24, 2018
Russ Haggett Memorial Race – Shawnee Peak – Sunday, Feb. 25, 2018

March 2018
Winter Wild Race – Black Mountain – TBD
Cross Cat Touring Challenge – Wildcat Mountain – TBD
Ski, Shoe & Fatbike to the Clouds – Great Glen Trails - Sunday, March 4, 2018
15th Annual “Break the Sound Barrier” Ski Race – Shawnee Peak - TBD
Bretton Woods Nordic Marathon - Bretton Woods Nordic Center – TBD
Jack Vallely Memorial Ski Race - Shawnee Peak - Saturday, March 10, 2018
Mount Washington Cup Nordic Race - Bretton Woods Nordic Center – TBD
Red Parka Challenge Cup – Attitash Mountain Resort – Friday, March 16, 2018
“U Go Girl” Race #3 - Attitash Mountain Resort – Saturday, March 17, 2018
Grandstand Mogul Jam - Attitash Mountain Resort – Saturday, March 24, 2018

Past Events
April 2017
BackCountry Shindig - "Wild Corn" - Zips Pub at Cranmore Mtn. Resort - Sat. Apr., 1, 5-10pm
Cat Scratch Fever Freeride Challenge – Wildcat Mountain – Fri. & Sat., April 7 & 8, 2017
Tuckerman’s Inferno Pentathalon – Friends of Tuckerman Ravine – Saturday, April 8, 2017
Feelin’ Good 5K – White Mountain Milers / MWVCC – Saturday, April 8, 2017
Pogo Polo Tournament - Settlers Green - Sat., April 22, 2017


May 2017
Danforth Bay's 5k - Sun., May 7, 7:30 registration
Crank the Kanc – Kancamagus Hwy. – Saturday, May 13, 2017
Birding by Ear in the White Mountains - AMC Joe Lodge Dodge - Fri-Sun, May 19-21
Mother's Day - Complimentary Canopy Tour at Bretton Woods, Mom's fly & gollf for free, 603-278-4947
Mother's Day - Mini Golf at White Lake Speedway - Moms golf free
Mother's Day - Moms zipline & climb for free at Monkey Trunks
8th Annual Race for Reading Color 5K and Kids Run at Believe in Books plus live entertainment
Saturdays & Sundays, 9am- Notch Hike,  11am - Notch Talk, 1pm - Notch Nature Walk, 5pm - Social Hour & Trivia, 7:30pm - Featured Evening Programs at 
AMC Highland
Alton Weagle Day, Auto Road, Sat., May 27, 6am

June 2017

Aid Climb, Touch the sky for Wounded Vets, Northeast Mountaineering, Sat., June 3, 
Alpine Garden Exploration: A Mountain In Bloom - AMC Joe Dodge Lodge - Sat.3pm &Sun.4pm, June 3&4-10&11-17&18
Mt. Washington Road Race – Mt. Washington Auto Road – June 17, 2017

11th Annual King Pine Tri – King Pine / Purity Springs Resort – Saturday, June 3, 2017
There’s a Black Fly In my Eye Trail Race – Great Glen Trails – Saturday, June 10, 2017
Rally in the Valley - Mt. Washington Valley Riders - Saturday, June 10 - Saturday, June 17, 2017
Father's Day - Complimentary Canopy Tour at Bretton Woods, Dad's Fly & Golf for Free, 603-278-4947
Father's Day - Mini Golf at White Lake Speedway - Dads golf free
Fathers Day - dads zipline and climb for free at Monkey Trunks
Wildcat Mountain Trail Race – WMAEF / Wildcat Mountain – Sunday, June 25, 2017

July 2017
Cranmore Hillclimb – White Mountain Milers / Cranmore – Sunday, July 9, 2017

August 2017
Wildman Biathalon – Gorham, NH / Wildcat Mountain – Saturday, Aug. 12, 2017
Bucks for Bernie 24 Hour Track Relay – Kennett HS Track & Field – Fri. & Sat, Aug. 11-12, 2017
Mt. Washington Auto Road Bicycle Hillclimb – Mt. Washington Auto Road – Saturday, Aug. 19, 2017